Posted by: adelliott08 | March 10, 2008

Thought for the day

As I was reading the blogs from my classmates, I came across this one.  http://remonzer.wordpress.com/2008/03/09/a-personal-take-on-21st-century-learners/ 

 Recently in EDUC 644, we learned to do podcasts.  This was fun because neither of my daughters knew how to create them and once again, we had fun learning this together.  I was thinking one day that some mothers teach their daughters to cook and others teach them to podcast.  I’m glad that I have the opportunity to do both.  That is just one of the benefits of being a 21st-Century-Learner. 

In all of my frustrations, I have yet to show my own sons how to do the things that I am learning about in this class and EDUC 644.  My oldest son has shown interest in learning, but since I have a tendency to procrastinate, I am often too overwhelmed to take the time to show him.  My 6 year old son helped me to create my podcast, but I didn’t take the time to really show him how it works.

Now, before you think that I am complaining, I simply want to say thank you to Remonzer for bringing this to light for me.   I too am glad that I live at the time that I do.  I have many more advantages than I did while growing up.  It is time for me to get my priorities in order and show my boys what I am learning.  Not only will that create a special time for us while spending time together,  but it will also allow me to practice the newly learned skill and think about how I will teach it to future students. 


Responses

  1. Angel,
    I totally agree with you! I found your post while reading Remona’s and I was thinking the same thing about not sharing this with my sons. Even though they are grown, one still lives with me and would probably not mind helping me out with these things if I would just ask.

    My family got a real kick out of my animatic project of Pivot people dancing the cha cha. It was then that I realized that I need to take the time to share more of what I’m doing with them.


Leave a comment

Categories